Saying Yes to Joy and Adventure with Jesus

By nature, I’m the serious type. Although being the oldest of four children, I grew up like an only child, and during my whole childhood, I was surrounded by adults my grandmother’s age. I often found myself eavesdropping on the adults wanting to be a part of their conversations. I wasn’t necessarily super playful or silly, and I lived in the midst of adult situations that children should never be a part of.

Even as an adult now, I’m still serious. I laugh and have a good time, but I’m always conscious about how I’m adulting. I try to do it well and convince others I do it well too. And mostly, this comes down to being a good doer, a get-it-done type of person. Productivity is often the goal, and so I tend to operate more in Martha mode than in Mary mode — busy doing instead of sitting at the feet of Jesus.

With the heaviness of 2020 behind me, I knew I wanted this year to be a bit lighter. I had no idea how to make that happen, but God knew. One day and much to my surprise, my friend Beka invited me on a trip with several of our friends for a girls getaway in Arizona. I’d always heard of these kinds of girls’ trips but had never been on one; I was delighted.

All of my friends are women from the church I’ve been attending for the last couple of years. In more ways than I can count, I still often feel like the new kid. These friends had been in community with one another for years, decades even, but despite my apprehension about belonging, I said yes to going.

To read the rest, join me over at Incourage!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,514 other subscribers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Nicole Unice

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Angie Smith Ministries

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress