When Hope and Healing Hurt

So recently a friend of mine passed away. His name was Steve. He was 39. He left behind a wife, Gayla and 3 young kids…Joseph (8), Hanna (6) and Karleigh (4). He battled Cancer for the last 2 years. Boy, did he battle! He fought the good fight and indeed finished the race. He lived and died well.

I babysat for Gayla’s sister in law the week before he died. Her mother recently passed away from Cancer as well. We had a conversation about the tension we live in as citizens of Heaven. Her mother was desiring to go to Heaven, but she was sad for the family she was leaving behind.

Losing loved ones is never easy, but if we are in Christ, we get to have an eternal perspective that the world desperately needs. This perspective brings us and the hurting world around us encouragement like nothing else can.

We are made for Heaven.

“…but our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.” Philippians 3:20

No matter how comfortable we are here, here is not home. It was never intended to be home. Our 80, 90 or 100 years here on earth pale in comparison to the length of eternity. Here, is preparation for there. The lives we live, the fruit we produce, the souls we impact, all carry eternal weight. In our every day, this truth brings joy. But, when we’re faced with the loss of a loved one, there is a bit of sadness attached. That’s okay. God can handle our sadness or anger or confusion. All He desires is that we lay that at His feet and allow Him to work in our hearts in order to gain His perspective.

 

To read the rest, join me over at Purposeful Faith!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sabrina C. Newkirk
    Nov 10, 2017 @ 07:25:00

    This touched my heart in a special way. My 7 year old, Yeshia, is still deeply mourning the loss of my mom 18 months ago. I pray with her for God to heal her heart but she asked me, ‘are our prayers working’?. I will share with her the scriptures above and continue to ask God to fill the void that keeps her up at night and turn her sad thoughts to sweet memories.
    ❤ Be blessed sis

    Reply

    • karina
      Nov 10, 2017 @ 09:51:06

      Sabrina, thank you for sharing!

      Sweet Jesus, You are the God of all comfort. Overwhelm Yeshia with that peace and a joy that surpasses all understanding. Be her refuge and strength. Give her little heart a vision of the bright and hope-filled future You have for her.
      In Jesus’ Name
      Amen

      Reply

  2. Jacqueline
    Nov 10, 2017 @ 08:27:16

    My name is Jacqueline Cortez and right now in my life am experiencing hope and healing hurting very much. My beautiful son Michael (28yrs old) committed suicide on April 20, 2017 at 10:15 am. He had been battling with depression for a couple of years. I prayed, fasted, tithe, serve in the church, give as the Lord lead. I pleaded with God to heal my son, doesn’t He see how much my son was suffering? God kept telling me to trust Him with my son. Did many hospital trips, therapists, inpatient/outpatient, psychologist, psychiatrist, medication all just to get help for my son. Then when it looked like my son was getting and taking the help then it happened. I said what? God? Why this way? Now that it has been 6 months it feels more real that my son is gone. And it feels so surreal and more painful with such sadness. I cried out to God walk with me through my pain and comfort my painful heart. Oh how I miss my son so much. First holiday without my son and the truth I don’t want them to come. Through all this I trust God sometimes I know that am breathing because of Jesus. Thank you for listening.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress

