The Joy of Long-Haul Friendship

Over the past year, I have spent a whole lot of extra time with my dear friend, Gayla, and her family. This may not strike you as odd, except for the fact that her husband, Steve, was diagnosed with cancer almost two years ago. Their family is young. Neither of them are 40 yet and their three kids are all under ten. I have been friends with them for more than a decade. But this season has been different.

When Gayla’s husband was first diagnosed, everyone came rushing in with offers of help and support, as they should. But through the years, the help hasn’t stopped, which has shocked me in all the best ways. Homemade dishes still appear at their house, offers to pay to have their laundry done are still coming in, and there are continuous offers to help with the kids in any way. Personally, I babysit for them to enjoy a date night. I clean their house and fold their laundry and even help her grade papers until the wee hours of the morning.

Can I tell you a secret? These have been some of the sweetest times I have had in a friendship recently. My friendship with them has gone to the next level. We have had conversations about light and hard things. We laugh and cry. We pray and speak truth. We break bread together and share dessert. There has been a new depth of authenticity and vulnerability that has taken place due to the reality of his cancer.

Their kids have even changed my last name to include me in the family. My heart melts! I love this family as if they were my own.

I recently came across Galatians 6 and was impressed by how much instruction is packed in ten short verses. A few of them stood out when it comes to faithfulness in friendship:

 

Tor read the rest, join me over at Incourage!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress

