Surprise…{Five Minute Friday} and a New Book!

I’m not typically one for surprises. I like to know when things are coming. I like to be in control of said things. I can’t even handle when my friends tell me they have something for me. Instant gratification kicks in and I want whatever it is.

This is not the way our God works. His Word tells us that He is always doing a new thing. And I’ve found in my life, He doesn’t ever move the same way. The way He provides for me in one season is not necessarily the same way He will provide for me in the next. They way He speaks to me differs in differing seasons. He doesn’t even opens doors of opportunity or connection or favor the same way twice. He does whatever it takes to get our attention and get through to us.

Those are the surprises that I am getting used to. I still would prefer to be made aware but I’m learning to trust that as long as God knows, that’s okay. He only has my best in mind. He only has good in store for me. He only has a holy purpose for me.

He feels the exact same about you!

Praying that you lean into the mystery of the God of the surprise. May you delight in them but more so in the giver of the surprise.

 

You’re welcome to come and join us and link up your own five minutes on the prompt, “Surprise” over at Kate’s place!

 

Guess What?! We’re making a book!

 

Susan Shipe from HopeHeartHome had the wonderful idea to compile a book of favorite posts that we’ve written over the years.

Find a favorite post that you’ve written for Five Minute Friday and send it to: hopehearthome<at>gmail<dot>com no later than March 31st. 

All proceeds will be divided equally between two vital ministries in South Africa: The Vine School in Cape Town, and the Ten Dollar Tribe!

 

Be-part-of-aFive-Minute-Friday-compilation-book-2-640x640 (1)

 

A celebration of the writing that comes out when you challenge yourself. When you turn off the critic in your head. When you remember you already are a writer; no one needs to name you what you already are.

Your words. This shared feast.

It’s easy to submit a post to the Five Minute Friday compilation, just:

  1. Pick your favorite Five Minute Friday post you ever wrote.
  2. Email it to Susan Shipe at hopehearthome@gmail.com
  3. BEFORE March 31.
  4. And if you have a testimony you’d like to share about what Five Minute Friday has meant to you – you’re welcome to include that in your cover email. We may feature a few of those in the book too.

So, I sure hope if you’re a current Five Minute Friday writer or an alum that you’ll consider submitting a piece.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carly
    Mar 18, 2016 @ 15:26:29

    I also find surprises difficult because I like to be in control, but I’m learning to trust God and be open to his surprises, knowing that he has a good plan. Visiting from FMF

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress

