Green Is Not My Color

Our greatest achievement will always be (1)

 

There’s something about comparison and envy that rises up in me more often than I’d care to admit.

For the most part, I just do my thing. But sometimes, what’s happening in the life of another catches my attention. Everyone’s highlight reel is readily on display on social media. I see it and I envy it. I want to be where the popular people are, doing what the popular people do and eating what the popular people are eating.

But if I’m honest, I don’t envy them as much as I can envy those in my everyday life.

And, I don’t like it . . . not one little bit. It makes me feel sick inside.

I have a friend. We all have “this” friend. We have similar passions and callings. Only she seems to be advancing in those passions and callings. This friend and I actually serve in youth ministry together. But, she is relatively new to serving in this ministry. I’ve been serving in it for almost 10 years.

God has given me opportunities to speak into these lives of these sweet kids. And I am truly grateful for those opportunities. But recently, I have been feeling a little left out. This friend and I lead a high school girls small group, and she is wildly adored and sought after by the girls. The youth pastor has asked her to M.C. and even preach at a few of the youth services.

These are real and valid situations and emotions for many of us. But, I don’t want to camp in this space. I don’t want to become bitter or jaded or resentful or jealous of a sister in the faith. I don’t want to become distracted by what is or isn’t happening with other people. I don’t want to inhibit a move of God in my life. That is the scheme of the enemy. He wants to cause division and disunity.

I will not fall prey to his tactics anymore! Instead, I will remind myself of how to respond when I am tempted to turn a shade of green.

 

To keep reading, join me over at Incourage!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin Franco
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 08:17:49

    Wonderful post, Karina. Envy is so tough. God’s ways are so far above our ways…it’s such a tough lesson in humility in these kinds of situations. Thanks for sharing. We’ve all been here and it’s so good to hear truth spoken to it like this.

    Reply

    • karina
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 08:59:42

      Erin, thank you! And thank you for sharing!

      Humility is one of those life longs journeys. The temptation to be prideful or jealous continually rears its ugly head way too often. I am so grateful that His ways are higher and that He is crazy patient with us.

      Reply

  2. Mary Carver
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 19:24:49

    Oh, friend, thank you for your transparency here – and also the encouragement! The internet and social media have given me so many amazing gifts, but they’ve also given me lots of chances to turn green. Thank God He keeps refining me and helping me grow and learning to look to Him and not to others for my worth!

    Reply

    • karina
      Jul 10, 2015 @ 11:25:36

      Thank you for reading and sharing Mary!

      Jesus won’t let me get away with anything less than transparent. Ha!

      Praise God for that refining process! He is ridiculously patient and kind!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress