The Power of the “Small Ask”

 

HappyMothers-Day-652x547

I want to love those around me well. I bet you do too. It doesn’t matter if I know someone or not, God’s heart for them is that they are loved well by His children.

I have reflected on my life in its various seasons. In every hard season, He was always been faithful to bring someone into my life to love me well. And I remember the significance of how my friends have served me. Their help has ranged from:

  • praying for me
  • giving me wise counsel
  • buying me groceries
  • helping me move to a new apartment
  • paying for my rent when I was laid off
  • letting me sleep on their sofa so I wouldn’t be homeless

Now, I will be the first to admit that I struggle with a little thing called pride. I am ridiculously independent and self sufficient. I actually pride myself in it. But, the Lord has gently humbled me over the years. I have learned to ask for help, especially when I don’t want to — and to accept help when it is offered. I won’t lie and say that it is easy for me to do that now, but I pretty much just take a deep breath and let it happen.

There is a blessing in both receiving and in giving.

The Lord let some simple, yet deep truths settle in to my heart.

 

 

To continue reading, join me over at Incourage!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress