Our Hearts, His Home {Visit}

The Old Testament describes God relating to people as His Spirit coming upon them. His Spirit came upon Samson with great strength and David with great power. His Spirit would also lift, as He did with Saul, leading to him being tormented.
Thank You Jesus for the cross!!! This is no longer how we live! This is no longer how God interacts with us. Jesus told His disciples that He had to die a horrible death in order to be raised from the dead. He would ascend into Heaven and then the Holy Spirit would come upon them. But He didn’t stop there, His Spirit would then take up residence in the bodies of those of us who believe in Christ.
That is the difference in God visiting His children and dwelling inside of us. This indwelling makes all the difference! It is the difference between living for ourselves and living for something bigger than us. It is the difference between living timidly and living courageously. It is the difference between living in denial and living out certainty.
The Holy Spirit Reveals Truth
“However, as it is written: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him”–but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.” 1 Corinthians 2:9-10
There are sweet mysteries in God’s Word that He wants to reveal to us. That only happens when His Spirit opens our eyes. We can’t find truth or revelation on our own. There is a depth of God’s character that we have yet to see.

 

The Holy Spirit Enables Us To Be Bold

“After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly.”  Acts 4:31

In my flesh, I am scared and far too concerned with the opinions of others. As a Christian, I am called to share Christ, but I often worry that people will reject me or even mock me. As I yield myself to Jesus and become an empty vessel for Him to speak through, He speaks with a bold confidence of who He is. I don’t have to come up with the right words. The burden lies solely on Him.

 

The Holy Spirit Lifts Up The Body Of Christ

“Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.” 1 Corinthians 12:7

We are the Body of Christ and that body is made up of many different parts. We can’t function without each other. The Lord calls us to partner with Him and each other to further the Gospel. We’ll never do this if we compare and compete with one another. Common good…we are all filled with His Spirit for the common good. We all benefit from words and actions spoken with life and encouragement. God is honored. Each of us is lifted up.

 

Our hearts are to be the tabernacle of the Most Holy God.

 

And this beautiful offering is my heart’s cry. I pray that it will become yours as well.

 

“My Heart, Your Home” by Watermark (Christy Nockels & Nathan Nockels)

“Come and make my heart Your home.
Come and be everything I am and all I know.
Search me through and through ’till my heart becomes a home for You.
A home for You, Lord.
A home for You, Lord.
Let everything I do open up,
A door for You to come through,
And that my heart would be a place where You want to be.
Come and make my heart Your home.
Come and be everything I am and all I know.
Search me through and through ’till my heart becomes a home for You.
You are my portion, filling up everything.
You are the fortune that’s causing my heart to sing.
That it’s amazing, that You could make Yourself at home with me.
Come and make my heart,
Come and make it Your home.
Come and be everything I am and all I know.
Search me through and through ’till my heart becomes a home for You.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,519 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress