Work For The Lord {Work}

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving. Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for their wrongs, and there is no favoritism.”  Colossians 3: 23-25

 

This is a hard one for me! I don’t know about you, but I can easily cop out when it comes to a job that I don’t want to do. Case in point, right now, I am a receptionist. With every day that goes by, I grow increasingly aware that this is not where I want to be forever. No part of my job even comes close to what I know the Lord has called me to.

 

Now is not forever.

I need to remember this…with every ounce of me, I need to remember this.

 

For me, in this season, working for the Lord looks like me showing up faithfully to a job that I am not passionate about and being salt and light to the lost around me. It looks like me walking out an authentic love for Jesus. It looks like me walking out loyalty and excellence.

The thing, I hold on to the most during this time is hope…hope that God has a purpose for me and hope that He will bring it to pass. He will equip me for my calling. He will lead me into His plans in His perfect timing.

 

 

What does working for the Lord in this season of your life look like?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marsdenmom
    Oct 17, 2014 @ 15:22:07

    Grateful to be walking this season with you, friend! He who has promised is faithful!

    Reply

  2. Fleurzty
    Oct 18, 2014 @ 13:29:04

    I have had these moments, when the last thing I wanted to do was show up. Last Summer, I returned to work after my second son. It was particularly difficult because all of our plans were derailed by a health diagnosis. Initially I planned on riding to work together, children in tow, but I had to face the fact that he needed to be cared for at home. To make a long story short, I had to learn to really live by this verse every day I had to walk out the door and leave my baby home. In time God changed our situation. I am now back home with him. The 5 months in between, I had to constantly remind myself that my work needed to honor the Lord. It was He I was serving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress