On Waiting And Growing

This.

If something won’t grow for you, then you grow something else. God tenderly holds our dreams, the ones with fragile petals and deep roots. God is interested in answering the root desires of those dreams because He knows they will best fulfill our soul-longing.”    –Kristen Strong

 

These words have taken root in my spirit. They bring conviction and yet they bring such hope and encouragement. Like many of you, I work in a job that is nowhere close to any of the desires of my heart. I spend 45 long hours a week in this place. I come away feeling drained and a little hopeless. I long to be somewhere else, somewhere where my passions are engaged and my dreams are fulfilled.

Until then, I wait. I wait for my God-sized dream to come to pass. I wait for that dream to grow. In the waiting, I grow other things:

-I spend time with Jesus.

-I take advantage of the relationships that I’ve made at work, with both those that know Christ and those that don’t. 

-I write this blog and pray that these words are life and encouragement to all of you.

-I invest into the lives of some precious Junior High and High School girls.

-I lead and attend small groups.

-I do life with dear friends.

-I serve the community with my beloved church.

-I serve in my beloved church.

-I clock a lot of hours in the gym.

 

In the waiting, I let Isaiah 40:31 be a blessed reassurance for me.

“Yet those whowait for the Lord
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up with wings like eagles,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary.”

 

I let the Lord grow peace in me that trusts that His timing is perfect.

I let Him grow strength in me to make it through the long days at work.

I let Him grow patience in me to wait expectantly for Him to move.

I let Him grow the character in me that is needed to sustain the calling on my life.

 

The Lord is holding my dreams, tenderly and with purpose. He wants to fulfill those desires just as much as I want Him to fulfill them. It’s just not time yet. So, I wait, I trust and I grow the things that I can.

 

What deep-rooted dream are you waiting on God to grow? What are you growing in the waiting?

 

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Peterson
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 09:25:56

    This is beautiful!! Thank you for your words, love you!!!

    Reply

  2. Emily B.
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 23:08:24

    Very encouraging! Thanks 🙂

    Reply

  3. Pattie
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 12:40:24

    Beautifully put.

    Reply

  4. Rodney Olsen
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 00:26:39

    I’m sure that God is preparing you for some big dreams.

    Hello. I’m Rodney. One of the few guys on the Wall Around Your Heart Launch Team. I’m just dropping in to a few blogs to say hello. Keep up the blogging and I’ll see you online. 🙂

    Reply

    • karina
      Aug 20, 2013 @ 08:56:15

      Thanks Rodney for visiting! I am super excited about this launch team! I can’t wait to see all that God has in store for you as well! Blessings! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress