Listen

So, I tell people that I often have spiritual earwax. I don’t know about you, but I am constantly trying to discern the voice of God. I just want to hear His voice clearly and obey it immediately. I am a leader for the youth group at my church. I am always stressing to my darling Junior High and High School girls about how important it is to drown out the voices of the world. I am not sure when I began to think that I didn’t need to be just as intentional about this.

 

No matter how old we are, no matter what season of life we are in, we need to choose to listen to God’s voice and ignore the voices of the world. In order for that to happen, we need to get still before Him.

 

Stillness opens the door for God’s voice to be heard.

 

I love the verses in 2 Kings 19 where Elijah is fleeing from Jezebel. He goes to the mountain of God at Horeb. God tries to get his attention and speak to him.

 

11 “Go out and stand before me on the mountain,” the Lord told him. And as Elijah stood there, the Lord passed by, and a mighty windstorm hit the mountain. It was such a terrible blast that the rocks were torn loose, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper.”

 

There are a lot of voices in this world that compete for our attention. We need to be aware of this. We need to resolve to lay aside every distraction in order to hear His still small voice.

 

My challenge to you: Let Jesus’ whisper ring louder than the shouts of the world.

 

What voices are competing for your attention? How are you choosing to get still?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress