The Song In Our Hearts

I was completely overjoyed by Lisa-Jo Baker’s word prompt of ‘song’ for this week!!! I am a music fanatic!!! I love to sing and write songs! I love connecting with singers and songwriters! Let’s just say that it is a passion!

Despite my love for all things song, my first thought wasn’t of the typical definition of this word. The Lord had actually been surrounding me with this word for a week before Lisa-Jo announced the prompt. God is too good to me!

I had been meditating on this verse in Zephaniah 3:17 where it says, “The Lord your God is in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

I started thinking about what those songs sound like. I believe that God sings songs of salvation, hope, healing, purpose, destiny, passion and peace over us. He is delighted at the very thought of you and me. He created us with such care. He created us to be in relationship with Himself. He created us to be a light in a very dark world. That sounds like meaningful songs to me!

I also spent some time listening to a podcast series by Louie Giglio entitled ‘Passion and Purpose’. This one message in the series was all about finding out what your passion is and walking it out. At one point Louie quoted Henry David Thoreau…“most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them,” That resonated deep down in my spirit. It also kind of brought up a sense of heaviness in me. I began to sob at the thought of dying with a song still inside of me, with the dreams that He has for me never being realized.

I want to hear God sing clearly over me and eventually join in that song.

I want to fulfill EVERY call that He has on my life. Most of all, I only want my passions to shine light on His great purpose.

What is the song that the Lord has put inside of your heart?

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy Schwanke
    May 24, 2013 @ 00:00:26

    I love your enthusiasm Karina!
    Delighted to know you. I’m with you and want the song there to play out.
    I recall “no plan of God’s will be thwarted”
    We just finished “Discerning the Voice of God” by Priscilla Shirer (my ladies sunday school class) and we all came away with peace and assurance that if we are clinging to the Shepherd, we cannot miss the way! If we are following we will go where He wants us! We all felt much relief and are working on not feeling like we are not doing enough or like we might miss the way!
    Blessings sister! 🙂

    Reply

    • karina
      May 29, 2013 @ 17:46:24

      Kathy, the last couple of weeks have been crazy!!!! Thank you SO much!!! I love me some Priscilla Shirer! That is totally my prayer, to cling to the Shepherd. I am so blessed to have you in my Social Media world! I can’t wait until we can connect in real life. May we continue to listen for His songs so that we may join in and sing along!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress