Brave

So, I looked up the definition of the word brave. Its primary meaning is to have or display courage, especially when facing danger, difficulty, or pain.

 It is both a feeling and an action. I can feel brave. I can act brave. And those two things don’t always happen at the same time.

But that is the life that Jesus has called us to, a life of bravery, a life full of taking risks and stepping out on faith. I can feel brave through the Holy Spirit. It is God who stirs up that feeling within me. It is also God that causes me to act bravely when things are coming against me.

Being brave isn’t the same as not being scared.

That is such a relief to me! In those times that I don’t feel brave, God’s power is made perfect in my weakness. My desire is to learn to radically trust and radically follow God. I want to get good at doing things afraid. I don’t want to rely on how I feel. I want to rely on what I know to be true…God’s promises.

If God has called you to do something, He will equip you for it.

So, lets live brave on purpose, knowing that God is faithful.

What areas of your life is God calling you to be brave in even though you may not feel brave?

Five Minute Friday

 

 

 

 

 


6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karan K Gleddie
    May 09, 2013 @ 09:02:42

    Karina, beautifully written thank you for sharing your heart.

    Reply

  2. Phyllis Lipford
    May 10, 2013 @ 21:26:10

    Hi Karina, connecting for the first time from 5MF …I like your post … For a certainty, our bravery comes from God.

    Reply

  3. Ava Sophie
    May 23, 2013 @ 06:32:37

    This is a really inspiring post, taking up the difference between feeling brave and being brave, and most importantly about living brave! Thank you for the reminder 🙂

    Reply

    • karina
      May 23, 2013 @ 23:02:38

      Thank you Ava! I need this reminder myself. 🙂 This post really meant alot to me! I am learning to do whatever God is calling me to do afraid if necessary, believing that He will equip me for it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress