A Call To Community

The Lord has undoubtedly used the context of community to rock my world! In college, God brought true Christ followers into my life and showed me what true relationship and true joy looked like. He showed me my need for Him. It was in the context of community that He showed me who He was, who I was in Him and the life that He had called me to.

I have seen the good, the bad and the ugly of community. I have seen the beginning of friendships and sadly, the end of them. I have also experienced some dear friends hear from the Holy Spirit and follow His leading in blessing me in countless ways.

When community is wrong, it is hard and exhausting. It just flat out hurts. There are a lot of tears and stretching during those times. When community is right, it is SO right. It brings life, encouragement, hope, healing, acceptance, safety and direction.

No matter what circumstances invade the community that you are a part of, know that God has called you to be a part of community. That is how He will grow you, strengthen you and fulfill His purpose in you and through you.

 

My Pastor, Mike Haman, said this at church recently…”When suffering, we never WANT community LESS, but never NEED community MORE!”

 

That is SO true! That is the way God designed it. We were never meant to go through life alone. The enemy wants us to withdraw but the Lord wants us to persevere in relationships.

This is what the community of (in)courage has meant to me. They have not let me walk alone. They have taught me to persevere and press in to God. Even though the community is online, God has joined our hearts together. We share our joys and pains. We pray for each other and speak God’s promises boldly. God’s purpose behind community is for our good and for His glory. (In)courage has been the biggest surprise blessing of my life! I would love for all of you to discover the depth of His love for you within this community.

 

Regardless of whether or not you have experienced highs or lows of community, decide it is worth it. Decide that life is far better together.

 

Has God placed you in an online or real life community? If so, tell me about it…

 

“For where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst.” Matthew 18:20

 

 

 

 

Click here to come over to our (in)RL page to register for FREE and find out how you can join in on the real life community fun on April 26th & 27th! 

Join us today for an (in)courage link up – share a blog post telling us where you have seen God at work in your communities (online or in real life).

Each of you who link up with us (and help us spread the (in)courager’s trailer and a FREE (in)RL registration invitation) will be entered to win one of of the amazing new (in)courage ((together)) necklaces by Lisa Leonard!

1 necklace for every 100 blog posts linked up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. (in)courage
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 17:15:35

    Thanks for much for sharing! We’re so excited for next weekend 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,618 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress