Ordinary

Ordinary. Common. Usual. Everyday. Natural…is what I can do. That is me. I am who God created me to be. I have gifts, talents, quirks, weaknesses and strengths. That is okay. That is the way God likes it. He never intended me to be anything more.

One of the things that He desires is for me to be fully surrendered to everything that He has called me to be and to trust Him to be everything that He promises to be.

Extraordinary. Amazing. Surprising. Unusually Excellent. Super…is what He can do. That is God. That is who He is. He is that and so much more. He is perfect, wonderful, strong and loving. God never intended to be anything less.

He longs to add His ‘super’ to my ‘natural’. That is when miracles happen. That is when His glory is displayed. That is when lives are changed. That is the way I like it!

Five Minute Friday

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adeline Oh Velarde
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 12:38:02

    I love what you wrote. That is so absolutely true. We are so ordinary, so much clays of jars and yet, it is He who makes us extraordinary vessels of use for His glory. Thanks for this great reminder.

    Reply

    • karina
      Mar 06, 2013 @ 15:01:01

      Adeline, I love your name! Beautiful! I am so glad that this post was a great reminder for you! This was a really good word prompt from Lisa-Jo. It made me focus on who God is and what He can do through a willing me.

      Reply

  2. Leese
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 15:07:14

    I LOVE this: “He longs to add His ‘super’ to my ‘natural’.” What a great way to put it! I’ve seen/heard (and probably even also said) something along the lines about God adding the ‘extra’ to our ‘ordinary’ but I love the super/natural even more! Thanks for that!

    Reply

    • karina
      Mar 10, 2013 @ 16:16:37

      Leese, I love your name!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for your lovely words. 🙂 I am gonna check out your blog too! At my church, God adding His “super” to our “natural” is a common phrase. It is very much part of our church culture.

      Reply

      • Leese
        Mar 10, 2013 @ 17:48:02

        I love how each church has its own unique culture (and language) and how that shapes us. The place God has me now is about the last place I’d have expected Him to plant me, yet I can see why He’s had me there for so many reasons.

        And thanks – I’m one of those rare people who seemed to have had their nicknames end up elongating their given names…but also be adopted by most everyone, so…yeah. My little cousin was finally the one who decided there needed to be a consensus as to how it was being spelled since it’s what most everyone calls me – and Leese (or Leesie, by some) has stuck! 🙂

        Fun to hear about the special friendships God’s given you in some unique places – and your thoughts about “Your Beautiful Heart” as a result of that. It’s on my list to get and read, but you’re the first person I’ve come across who’s actually read it (besides the reviews online…but it’s fun to hear from someone who you can tell their thoughts on more in general, as I can with you thanks to the blog) – I’ll be sure to get it sooner than later now!

      • karina
        Mar 15, 2013 @ 15:01:36

        Leese, I am most definitely shaped by the culture of my church!!! I go to Healing Place in Baton Rouge. Our byline is ‘To Be a Healing Place For a Hurting World’. A lot of our culture is based around serving and servant hood leadership.

        I am going to read Susie’s book again! It is that amazing!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,575 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress