God Answered Before I Even Prayed

I know! I know! The title sounds kind of crazy. But, it happened. This is a short and simple story with long and lasting effects. Last May, on a pay day, I went to the bank to deposit my paycheck. There was nothing special about that day. I hadn’t been praying particularly big prayers. I wasn’t feeling super spiritual. I was just going through an ordinary day, doing something that I had done numerous times before. I drove into the Drive Thru of my bank and sat in my car filling out my Deposit slip. I withdrew my tithe first, before I made the deposit. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love tithing and giving to my local church and watching God multiply resource in order to build His Kingdom. For some reason, the thought passed through my mind, “God, I love tithing, but I would love for this amount of this paycheck to be the amount after I tithe.” That was it. Nothing deep. No pleading or grand notions. Well, I had also babysat that week as well. I withdrew a tithe out of that money and added the rest of it to my paycheck. When I had finished adding the sub totals together to come up with my final deposit amount, my mind nearly exploded. I could not believe what I was seeing! The final amount was the EXACT amount of my paycheck!!! What?! Are you serious?! I dare anyone to tell me that God doesn’t answer prayers! He not only answers them, He shatters them! He may not answer them in the way that we want Him to, but He always answers.

I had a want. I had an idea. I had an expectation. But God had something far better in mind.

A good friend of mine, Andy, taught our youth a couple of weeks ago out of James 4:6 in the Message version. It speaks of what Jesus gives in love as being far better than anything else I could find. That rocks my world! God loves me that much! He will go out of the box in order to show me just how much He loves me! He will go to any lengths to reach us and show us that love. He showed me in that moment that His provision is far better than anything that I could have come up with on my own.

In Ephesians 3:20, it says,” Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us.” God is a BIG God, so we can pray BIG prayers! But the answer to our biggest prayers aren’t big enough! That is wild!!! But that is our God!!!

So, what are the big prayers that you want God’s far better answer to? God is waiting and longing to answer and maybe even before you pray them.

Out of the Blue

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen Strong
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 22:09:20

    I love this, Karina. It’s like an answered prayer wrapped in a miracle. Amazing!

    So thankful for you, girl. You are a light.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,545 other followers

Community:

Blue Eyes and Red Dirt

Always, Still a Work in Progress

nicoleunice.com

Always, Still a Work in Progress

hope joy peace

May the God of hope fill you with all joy & peace in believing - Romans 15:13

julianne hope

It's a wonderful day to live beyond yourself.

Lisa-Jo Baker

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Devise2bWise

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Always, Still a Work in Progress

Bring the Rain

Always, Still a Work in Progress

(in)courage

Always, Still a Work in Progress